Shrimp Mushroom Salad

Me 2I found this recipe at www.cookingwithawallflower.com it sounded too good to pass up and I was right about that… it was a hit even though I had to make a few modifications due to pantry limitations. Original recipe can be found here. I will post my modified version under the recipes tab shortly.

The Hubby and I are avid shrimp lovers so I used about 20 medium shrimp (41/60). I also used a little over 2 cups of mushrooms because we love those too. I didn’t have the Madeira wine so I used ½ cup of sherry and ¼ red wine… The results were phenomenal!  I have to hand it to Andrea Giang, this was a restaurant quality dish that will make plenty of appearances on my menu in the future.

Shrimp Mushroom Red Sherry Salad Cropped

It had a rich savory flavor that left your palate signing its praises! A virtual Mardi Gras in your mouth! Light enough not to make you feel guilty or overly full if you went back for seconds (right Matt?) but pleasing and satisfying in a way a lot of warm salads can often fall short of.

Kudos Ms. Giang. You have won over a couple of new fans!

Tomorrow we try out a recipe from www.purewow.com. This wonderful little indulgence has you slathering an entire head of cauliflower in a spicy yogurt marinade before roasting it at a high temperature… I’m so ready!

Roasted Cauliflower

Leave a Reply

