Calories, Carbs and Sugar OH MY!

Me 2I’ve never been a big supporter of calorie counting (who has time, right?) But that’s exactly what I’m doing at the moment. Tracking my food is making me aware of just how indiscriminately that I ate food at times regardless of their nutritional value. I think most of us have done this at some point then sat and wondered where the ten extra pounds came from on top of wondering where your get up and go has gone.

Some food assumptions I’ve made in the past were off base…. WAY OFF BASE. Never in my rose colored world would I have thought that 2 small little boneless nuggets of chicken would be more calorie, fat and carb dense than a slice of pizza. But it is… it is BIG TIME! From Pizza Hut they come in an order of 8 and each one is 130 calories so once you eat two you’re over the 220 calories a slice of pepperoni hand tossed pizza would have given you.

Never in my wildest dreams would I have thought that an order of 8 boneless wings would be over a 1000 calories. I stand corrected. Now I know what I’m getting myself into when ordering those things (which I don’t think I’ll do for a very long time to come. They are good but I don’t think they are 1000 calories and 72g of fat worth of good). Especially at 11pm when I’m going to do nothing more than finish my Netflix movie and go to bed.

Pizza Hut One  Pizza Hut Two

But that’s just one example of many where I would have never guessed that something was as calorie, carb or sugar dense as it really is. (See my previous ranting post about the soft bread pretzel) So tracking my food on Lose It is making me more aware of just how much I’m consuming as well as the quality (or lack thereof) of the food I’m eating. Once you see it in front of you in black and white, just how fast you can hit and exceed 2000 calories in a day on top of little to no exercise you can understand where the weight has come from as well as why your fitness and energy level is in the toilet.

When one can of soda, two slices of pizza and a small bag of chips has you at almost 700 in one meal and walking for half an hour is only going to burn 110 calories of that you can go ….”Ohhhhhh that’s what’s happening to me… this is where I’m going wrong.”  Armed with that knowledge, you can adjust your lifestyle accordingly. Tracking your food and exercise and liquids on top of becoming a label reader gives you to tools to make the changes that will take you where you want to be.

And where do you want to be? The answer to that is a personal thing that varies from person to person but off the couch is a damn fine start for all of us.

Leave a Reply

